'Biblio Art Prize'

Wednesday 5 - Sunday 16 December 2018


Now in its 10th year, the Biblio Art Prize was created by Blarney Books & Art in Port Fairy to celebrate the crossover of the two artforms. Independent judges both local and national are appointed to judge the maximum of 60 works shortlisted for the non-acquisitive prize of $2,000.

The brief to artists is to create an artwork clearly inspired by a book in any medium. The judges then select the work they believe clearly follows this brief. Past judges have included Katherine Hattam and Deborah Klein and, for 2018, Justine Hyde (Director, Library Services, State Library of Victoria) and Vanessa Gerrans (Director, Warrnambool Art Gallery) selected Mandy Gunn and Pillars of Wisdom as the winning work with highly commended certificates presented to WH Chong, Berit Hampel and Deborah Klein. In a separate award, the Blarney Storytellers Prize went to Robert Gatt.

Participating artists: Lee Bethel; Joyce Blanche; Helen Bunyon; Paul Burman; Sian Burman; Robyn Burns; Patsy Bush; Lorena Carrington; James Chapman; Megan Cheyne; WH Chong; Phil Dimitroff; Alissa Duke; Jill Edwards; Jane Farnan; Helen Fitzhardinge; Robyn Foster; Robert Gatt; Jean Gleason; Larissa Gray; Mandy Gunn; Berit Hampel; Anne-Maree Hunter; Mel Kerr; Harrison Kewley; Deborah Klein; Penelope Lawry; Claire Macrae-Drylie; Avril Makula; Freya Marriott; Sam McCaw; Graeme McDonald; Karen Neal; Rachel Peters; John Rabling; David Rossiter; Rochelle Ruddock; Rita Summers; Bridget Thomas; Sandra Tobias; Carmel Wallace; Linda Weil; Diana White; Jodi Wiley; Heather Woods